New Songs

Snoop Dogg – Make America Crip Again

Snoop Dogg embraces his OG status on “Make America Crip Again.” “The president says he wants to make America great again,” opens Snoop, on his new single “Make America Crip Again.

“Fuck that shit! We gon’ make America crip again, cuz!” Well, few are better suited to the task than the legendary Snoop Dogg, who recently announced his second project of the year, a brand new eight track EP titled Make America Crip Again.

The project, which is set to drop next Friday October 27th, will feature appearances from Chris Brown, October London, OT Genesis, comedian Hahadavis (this finna be a breeze!) and more. Check out the tracklist after the jump, but first, let’s dive into the title track.

Right off the bat, Snoop makes his intentions known, highlighting the emergence of black millionaires and their dominant role in shaping American culture. “Don’t pretend like I’m with that bullshit your president been tweeting,” raps Snoop, “them black boys is ballin’ out the whole block is eatin’.”

Snoop shouts out the Negro league and Colin Kaepernick before encouraging young black entrepreneurs to go out and get that money. It’s interesting to see Snoop embrace his OG status, and take his music in a more socially conscious direction. Despite that, Snoop claims in a statement that this project isn’t a “political thing,” but simply good music:

“It’s not a statement or a political act: it’s just good music. Certain people feel like we should make America ‘great again,’ but that time they’re referring to always takes me back to separation and segregation so I’d rather Make America Crip Again,””In my lifetime, that’s when young black men in impoverished areas organized to help their communities and to take care of their own because society basically left them for dead. A lot of people glorify the gang-banging and violence but forget that in the beginning, the Crip’s main and sole purpose was to be the reflection of the Black Panthers. They looked after kids, provided after-school activities, fed them and stepped in as role models and father figures.”

Check the tracklist here:

01. M.A.C.A.
02. 3’s Company (feat. Chris Brown & OT Genesis)
03. Good Foot
04. Dis Finna Be a Breeze (feat. Hahadavis)
05. None of Mine
06. My Last Name (feat. October London)
07. Sports Center (feat. Designer Flow)
08. Fly Away (feat. Shon Lawon)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *